Reloading press

Wickedcoolname

NES Member
I've been loading pistol ammo for about 30 years on a Dillon SDB but now I need to start loading for my 6.6x55 Swedish Mauser. I'm just looking for a single stage press and I'm looking for opinions on Lee vs everything else. I'm a frugal guy (raging skinflint) so the price of the Lee looks good to me.
And opinions?

Waiting for the "buy once, cry once" crowd.

You could wear out a cheap Lee single
You won't wear out any of the other manufacturers.
You can buy three Lee's for the price of one of the others.

If you want the utmost I'm accuracy, forget Lee and grab your checkbook

TLDR: buy a Lee, use it to make ammo, if you get good enough to outshoot what the Lee can make then buy a super expensive press

Look for a used RCBS Rock Chucker or JR-II. A couple of years ago, I bought a used JR-II for about $45 at a yard sale. It looked a bit "used" (ok, a lot used) but I stripped the old paint off, cleaned up whatever rust it had on it with 0000 steel wool, repainted it with as close to RCBS green paint I could find and it works like a dream. It looks almost new now. They are virtually indestructible as there isn't much that can go wrong on them.

I would say get a rock chucker or the Hornady Lock n load classic. Both are very sturdy presses The only downside with the Hornady is the bushings
There always seem to be some pretty decent deals on Dillon RL-550B & C's on the classified ads here. I've been tempted a few times to grab a second one but so far I've been able to resist the temptation. Not sure what the OP's budget is though. If I remember correctly the Dillon SDB uses dies with non standard thread sizes so, if this is the case, whatever he ends up with will require new dies too.

Last edited:
The only downside with the Hornady is the bushings
Only when using for precision/competition shooting ammunition though, right?
Or, is there something I'm missing?
Making range fodder is not an issue with the LNL bushings...