• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Rear Sling Mount Options for AK-47 Type Rifle

I bought this rifle recently and it did not come with a rear sling mount installed, so I'm looking for help figuring out my options and the best choice. This is probably a super basic issue for most of you out there, but I'm still quite new to guns, and I have no idea how to do this right or the implications of the various possible locations for the mount.

I managed to get some good pics of this rifle recently so I thought I'd share.

100_1589.jpg 100_1590.jpg

100_1593.jpg 100_1592.jpg

By the way, this is a Serbian Zastava PAP M70.

Thanks in advance for your input.

G

sling loops and brackets can be found online
Tapco_AK-47_Original_Style_Buttstock_DARK_EARTH.jpg

http://www.gunbroker.com/Auction/ViewItem.aspx?Item=306889931

there are many options just do google image search "AK buttstock"

what part of this specifically concerns you?

Last edited:
I've seen the rear sling mount at the end of the stock, near the receiver end of the stock, on the receiver and between the grip and receiver. I just don't know why I would choose one over the others.

the m70 had a loop attached to a slot in the left hand side of the rear receiver, held in place by a bent and pressed piece of sheet metal that was expanded inside of the receiver.

634683765321830001ud51lcup.jpg

You could cut a slot and get creative yourself if you wanted to recreate this. Or get a screw mount loop and put it on the rear stock somewhere.

K-var sells the loops, but they cost a pretty penny ($10) and shipping will suck too ($15 minimum, usually.... a lot for a frickin sling sivel/loop)

http://www.k-var.com/shop/Slings-Swivels-Sling-Rings-Sling-Loops/

I like your AK better than mine (im working an getting another so I am not too jealous), looks like we need to stretch her legs soon!