• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Question on Residency and NFA items

Backstory: I own property in NH but have been renting it out for the last few months so I could move to MA for an undetermined duration due to work circumstances.

I purchased an NFA item over a year ago and the stamp just came back.

I still have my NH drivers license, my vehicle is registered there, that is where I vote, and pay taxes, etc...

Any issues with picking the item up and storing it at my NH property? In my eyes I am still a resident of that state but not sure how that is viewed in terms of residency for the purposes of a 4473.

Thanks in advance

IMHO absolutely nothing wrong with that, you got the stamp, the state its located in, it's legal, nothing wrong with that. Your residency is only meaningful "on its edge" (eg, at the time the transaction was initiated) but not WRT actual possession of any firearm.

FWIW though as far as the ATF is concerned residency is even more nebulous than
many state standards. People with property can assert a residency claim anytime they want; there's no real limits hard coded into the law.

-Mike

Sounds like you live in NH....right. Works for me, but I’m not a lawyer, nor do I play one on TV, but it sure sounds like you live in NH. I do know if you don’t have an FFL07 SOT you cannot have a suspressor in MA. Just guessing on what you have....

Sounds like you live in NH....right. Works for me, but I’m not a lawyer, nor do I play one on TV, but it sure sounds like you live in NH. I do know if you don’t have an FFL07 SOT you cannot have a suspressor in MA. Just guessing on what you have....

He's not going to bring it into MA though. Probably not now, or ever, if he's got property there. (I wouldn't... hell, I'd have like one gun with me in MA, that'd be it. )