Problems with a CWOF

My personal belief (keeping in mind that I am not a lawyer) is that in Tirado the SJC designed its ruling as it did to ensure compliance with federal prohibition on masking CDL holders MV violations.
It would have made more sense, from a legal perspective, to just prohibit CWOFs for driving offenses by CDL holders.

MA already has an "anti-masking" policy for moving violations. Magistrates and judges are specifically prohibiting from imposing any alternative finding/sentence that would allow the defendant to avoid the insurance rating supplemental punishment.

Did the person win? Get his LTC?

Yes. There were two appeals that day, both from the same town and both suitability denials based upon long ago police 'contact' and did not result in convictions. These denials were based upon old police reports.

Interestingly, the judge read the updated public safety related requirement for suitability denials to mean that the police chief bore the burden of justifying suitability denials. The chief did a poor job of justifying his actions and the judge easily rule in favor of both petitioners.

Yes. There were two appeals that day, both from the same town and both suitability denials based upon long ago police 'contact' and did not result in convictions. These denials were based upon old police reports.

Interestingly, the judge read the updated public safety related requirement for suitability denials to mean that the police chief bore the burden of justifying suitability denials. The chief did a poor job of justifying his actions and the judge easily rule in favor of both petitioners.

Excellent ! Thanks for the update

Interesting. If you can say, what town was this in? Also, are these rulings helpful in setting precedent for other folks in the Commonwealth who are/might challenge denials?

A somewhat related observation.