"Precision" AR barrel

StevieP

NES Member
Thinking of building a more-shoulderable AR for my next build.

My current AR-15 and .308AR are both heavyweight (benchrest) guns. AR15 has 20" "heavy match" barrel. .308 is a 18.5" DPMS "SASS" bull barrel. It's fluted, but still heavy. Both have Nikon scopes with monolithic mounts (not lightweight rings).

Would like my next AR to come in well under 7 lbs. It'll have a lightweight red-dot, or low-magnification (1-6x) scope with illuminated reticle.

Want a 14.5" (plus muzzle brake to bring it over 16"), or just a 16" barrel. Likely high quality stainless. Fluted. 1:8 twist. .223 Wylde chamber. While this will be a lightweight build, I'm still of the opinion that only accurate rifles are interesting. No "plain Jane" carbine barrels need apply.

Soooo. Criterion? Krieger? Shilen? Noveske? Rainier?

Anyone have direct experience you can share?

Last edited:
Im not a barrel expert but so far with my ARs nothing light weight has proven "accurate" vs my heavy match barrel guns.

Although I have a RRA A2 with a standard 1/9 nato chamber barrel that will shoot my match loads darn close to the same accuracy as my RRA NM barrel. Its just not as consistent as it warms up? Plus its easy to pull the shots off line with out the free float tube like my NM AR.

I considered one of these for my optics only "varmint" build http://www.whiteoakarmament.com/xcart/product.php?productid=18006&cat=312&page=1

I later found a CLE 18" heavy barrel locally from a club member

My

My White Oak SDM bbl is 20" and fluted. That reduces the weight quite a bit compared to a Colt HBAR 20".

Here's a sale on a White Oak barrel that may fit your needs. I ordered a couple myself. Love their products!