• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Barrel question?

I'm in the process of picking out an upper. A few of you have machined the barrel and the bolt are two of the most critical parts. What features should I look for in a barrel? There are so many different coatings and treatments I'm not sure which is better. I have no experience of what makes one better than the other.

caliber and bullet weight you are going to shoot?

How are you determining your twist rate.

Distance you plan on shooting at?

caliber and bullet weight you are going to shoot?

How are you determining your twist rate.

Distance you plan on shooting at?
300 BO and at 100 yards and under. I don't think my state has any range past that. As far as twist that's one thing I'm not sure about. But I was talking about things to look for like is a Parkerized barrel better than a nitride. things like that Im not sure what to look for.

What state?

Suppressor or not?

10" barrel, 6" suppressor 1:7 twist?

Going 16" and yes at some point it will be suppressed.
A good question and the answers don't have to get too complicated. Lots of folks want to recommend short barrels for 300 BLK but that really applies to subsonic rounds + a can. Any supersonic loads you shoot will not be adequately burned by such a short barrel and you leave a lot of performance behind. If you want to shoot at 100 yards and possibly hunt, that 16" barrel is going to be best. Not only for the full velocity you will extract from the loads but the longer sight radius helps a lot for accuracy.