• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Pheasant Hunting questions

Mbous

NES Member
I'm brand new to hunting and had some questions about hunting pheasants on WMA land in western mass, specifically Herman Covey in Belchertown.

The first question is am I required to use steel shot if part of the hunting area abuts a pond? I'm not interested in hunting waterfowl at all but there is one area I've seen pheasant feathers over the years and it abuts a pond. I didn't see anything in the hunting regs but I'd rather the game wardens/environmental police don't try and jam me up if I'm using lead shot and hunting pheasant.

The second question is it even worth it to try and hunt the area without a dog or even with a dog? I have a friend at my gun club who was interested in going hunting up there with me but I don't know if my schedule will match up and allow me to hunt with him and his dog. I was planning on trying on a weekday (probably a Monday or Thursday) even if I have to go alone without a dog. Does anyone know if that area is already over hunted and I'm just going to basically waste my time hiking the fields? I've heard some people know when the state stocks the birds so my concern is that the birds are already cleaned out and there is nothing there to try and flush.

I'm brand new to hunting and had some questions about hunting pheasants on WMA land in western mass, specifically Herman Covey in Belchertown.

The first question is am I required to use steel shot if part of the hunting area abuts a pond? I'm not interested in hunting waterfowl at all but there is one area I've seen pheasant feathers over the years and it abuts a pond. I didn't see anything in the hunting regs but I'd rather the game wardens/environmental police don't try and jam me up if I'm using lead shot and hunting pheasant.