• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Open carry in NH

All - I am a mass resident but I'll be in NH this weekend. I'm planning on open carrying, and I know about not carrying loaded in a vehicle.

I know open carry is "legally" ok, but are there places where this gets odd looks? I've been to NH and I can't remember seeing anybody open carrying... how out of place will this be?

Once you get north of "North Massachusetts" or about exit 3, nobody will care.

Not to be a wise ass, but if you are going with someone else, you can carry concealed as long as you have no ammo on you, so have someone carry your magazines for you and tell them to stick close.

I've seen open carry as far South as Derry (Exit 4) and it seldom gets a 2nd glance above Concord. Farmers and people working in their woodlots often carry open I've noticed.

There have been a few issues in Manchester with people calling the police, so watch yourself there and maybe downtown in Concord..

All - I am a mass resident but I'll be in NH this weekend. I'm planning on open carrying, and I know about not carrying loaded in a vehicle.

I know open carry is "legally" ok, but are there places where this gets odd looks? I've been to NH and I can't remember seeing anybody open carrying... how out of place will this be?

Do you have your NH Non-Resident permit? If so, then you're good all day long.

http://pgnh.org/the_open_carry_debate_september_2009

The Open Carry Debate (September 2009)
by Sam Cohen, Executive Vice President and CEO, Pro-Gun New Hampshire, Inc.