"odd" rules for gun clubs

OK I'm new to this, so bear with me... I don't understand the reasons for some of the range rules I've read about hear. Can you explain why they are in place?

Specificly:

1) limitted # rounds loaded.
2) limitations to stances
3) no drawing (I kind of understand this, particularly cross draw)
4) no rapid fire.

Aren't we there to practice proper handling, etc. ?

(btw, my range's only limitation is no booze or drugs... of course since I'm still waiting for my liscense (10wks), it may as well have a "no guns" limitation!!)

Matt

My thoughts on the matter:

1.) paranoia and pandering to the anti-gun crowd (some gun owners only like their "kind of guns" but have no use for so-called SAW, cop-killer ammo, etc.)

2.) unless someone uses an unsafe stance, see item 1.) above.

3.) benches get in the way, unless someone is properly trained - fear of NDs before gun is on target or injury to shooter in a quick-draw scenario.

4.) some "spray and pray" missing the targets, perhaps putting them thru the roof, walls, etc. LOTS of proper training is required before someone can effectively do rapid fire with pistol and expect to really hit what they are aiming at.

MRA has only 1 round limet for thier outdoor rifle ranges (wich sucks if you have a garand) but thier rational is that the town of Woburn has come RIGHT up to the edge of the MRA property (you really get a feel for it in the fall when the trees drop thier leavs!)

one round in the gun is a 100% prevention against Spray-and-pray.

I was also cited a story of an gunsmithed AR malfuntioning into full-auto. I dunno how valid a scenario is for general safty.

They (like most other clubs) have no drawing....again I can't blame them.

Thier "Rapid Fire" rule is as this "Only shoot as fast as you can keep the rounds on the paper"