• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

New rifle questons.

I havn't had a AR 15 or a rifle in my hands in since leaving Vietnam. I've been collecting handguns and shotguns for almost 40 years and want a rifle now.

So I'm clueless about what to look for. What I'm looking for, more or less is just some thing to use at the range. There are so many companies that make them now it's hard for me to just pick one out. They all look good to me.

So far I have toyed with the idea of a new Savage package with a scope in 308, getting a SKS and putting a scope on it or a AR 15. with a scope.

So if some of you guys would tell me about what they like to use at the range it would help me out.

CAR-15 (pre-ban) flat-top with AimPoint on it!

Stay AWAY from Olympic Arms guns, bad rep.

Good to go: Bushmaster, Rock Rivers, Armalite, Colt (you pay a premium for the pony) in particular.

I could shoot my AR15s all day long!

Savage does indeed make a nice accurate rifle for less money than you'd spend on something in the same class from other manufacturers. Their tactical series with Choate sniper stock and bi pod is a blast to shoot.

SKS rifles are dificult to scope properly because they were never intended for accuracy. I'm currently doing a project with a side mount drill and tap mount but haven't finished it yet. Heres where I got the idea.
http://www.surplusrifle.com/reviews/choatesksscope/index.asp

AR style rifles are the most confusing to me, probably because I don't own one. They're pricey and most everyone I know that has one has built their own from various conponents depending on what they want it to do. I know Colt pre ban models get top dollar and i've heard good things about Bushmaster models, but the options are endless.