New Hunter Help

I am new to the hunting scene. I got my license last year and am hoping to find some tips or even better someone to go hunting with to show me the ropes of hunting. I have a antlerless for this season (Zone 9) and my wetlands and bird stamps for my license. Hopefully I am not the only hunting newbie out there. [smile]

no your not the only one. i just started last year, got my first buck and pheasant too. the best advice i can give you is to do some research on the net, ask question both online and at some fishing/hunting places - best bet would be somewhere that checks in deer for hunters, watch hunting shows/dvds. Also get out into the field and look around for signs I.E. scrapes, droppings and trails.

if you were closer to me i would go out with you. are you looking to go during archery, shotgun, muzzle loader or all 3?

Decide if you believe in the scent blocker stuff and if you do pick up some stuff. if your short on money like i am most of the time just pick up a piece here and there. if you don't have any this year start by just getting the spray and use it all over when you park your car, use it on the bottom of your shoes too, that way your not tracking scent into the woods.

some people don't believe in the stuff and to tell you the truth i am not positive either. However i used it last year and had a doe come within 10 feet of me, she never knew i was there! that's good enough for me to keep using it.

there is all kinds of gear that will make it easier for you but for your first time its not really needed. I'm talking about range finders, binoculars ETC. they are great to have but since the season is already here if you don't have them don't worry about it this time.

Follow the yellow "Deer Crossing" signs on the highway. Many of these spots are on the back sides of State Forests. It's a depiction of a great 5x5 or better! Google Earth the area to see what's around, get a local map that will show parks, etc...