New Ham Having Trouble

Maxpower

Banned
I recently took my ham test and picked up a handheld unit. It is a Wouxun KG-UVD1P (not the best, I know) rated at 4.5 - 5 watts depending on where you look up the information. I am trying to hit the repeater of the club that sponsored the test which is about 16 miles away. Listening on my scanner, I hear it key in but there is only static for as long as I hold down the PTT but my voice does not come through. It seems like my signal is somewhat hitting the repeater but my voice does not carry. If I change the PL on the radio it does not work at all so I think I have that right. Is there something else I am missing? Could it be the radio just can't make it that far on the stock antenna?

Not yet. I have heard myself on the scanner in that range though. I know that doesn't mean much but I am still learning.

First, congratulations on getting your license! Welcome to Amature Radio!

If the antenna you are using is a rubber duck, then 16 miles, from indoors is a stretch. Can you hear chatter on the local repeater?
If you can break the repeater's squelch then it does seem you are transmitting enough carrier, but no voice. If so, then I would suspect the radio. Unfortunately these modern radios are so complex that it may be just set to a funny mode.

Ebay. The guy I bought it from included a car adapter and an adapter to allow use of an antenna that attaches with a bnc connecter. It was also supposed to include a separate mic/speaker but it wasn't in the package. Seller told me its on the way. Seller was mega409shop. Paid 112.50.

Ebay. The guy I bought it from included a car adapter and an adapter to allow use of an antenna that attaches with abnc connecter. It was also supposed to include a separate mic/speaker but it wasn't in the package. Seller told me its on the way. Seller was mega409shop. Paid 112.50.