New gun, got a couple question about pistol target shooting.

I picked up my first gun Friday, a CZ-75 P01 (9mm). [smile]. Got it at a decent price ($477 shipped) and after putting a few hundred rounds through it on Saturday, very happy with it. Ordered the .22lr Kadet conversion kit to make practice a little cheaper [grin].

I did a few hours of instruction at the Manchester Firing Line last week and Tom did a great job going over safety and shooting mechanics. I liked the place and became a member, plan to shoot once a week or so. I'm really new to this and trying to figure out what reasonable target shooting goals should be. It would be great if some could share their practice methods, shooting distances and what are reasonable goals/expectations? I wish I saved my targets, but didn't cross my mind to (I attached the target I was using for reference). Any advice would be really appreciated. Thanks

Attachments

• pistol_target.pdf
    14.4 KB · Views: 88
Reasonable expectations for a beginner - hit the target at close range, most of the time.

Generally I shoot in at 7 or so yards, and move out later. You should start at a distance that you can hit the target, as your groups get tighter, move further and further out. 3 yards, 5 yards, 7 yards, whatever you feel comfortable. You don't want to shoot too far away, as it'll become frustrating when you are missing a lot. You can move it further out for a few magazines a session, just to try it for fun.

It is better to shoot LESS rounds, MORE often, as opposed to shooting MORE rounds, LESS often.

Welcome to the wonderful world of shooting, and it's awesome you've gone green already!

Hi Keystone, thanks replying and for the advice.

When you say to hit the target and keep getting the groups tighter, how tight of a group would be considered good? Say at 7yds, for a reasonably good shooter firing 10rds, would you expect everything in the 3"ring or better?