My 9mm reloads aren't feeding well (noob)

scatter

NES Member
I'm brand new to this and have just recently loaded about 50 rounds of 9mm, 4.2gr of Bullseye behind a Hornady 115gr FMJ RN, using the Hornady load data, which puts me at about the mid range for this powder. I'm getting a fail to feed on my G26 about 20% of the time. The round gets stuck on the feed ramp.

I loaded up a magazine full of new Blazer and it worked fine, so it's not the gun.

I have triple checked my COAL against the new stuff and it is nearly perfect.

I checked the total cartridge weight against the new stuff and I'm about 1.5gr lighter on average. But I have no idea what type of powder and charge are used in the factory ammo, so I can't say that I'm underpowered but it sure acts that way.

Any suggestions on what to try/check here?

I don't have gauges. But I measured and weighed every round so far. I'm using 1.15 for OAL. Here is a pic of a completed round.

20160525_165616_zpsjzsw1chx.jpg
[/URL][/IMG]

I don't have gauges. But I measured and weighed every round so far. I'm using 1.15 for OAL. Here is a pic of a completed round.

20160525_165616_zpsjzsw1chx.jpg
[/URL][/IMG]

Weighing them isn't going to help diagnose an ammo related feeding problem.

Take the barrel out of your gun and do the "plunk test". If your rounds don't drop freely into the chamber with a little plunk sound, then there is a problem with the sizing or "taper crimp".

A case guage is about $15 and it is a very useful tool if you want to produce quality functional ammo that will fit when and where its supposed to.

It looks like there's small burrs on the case mouth and very little taper crimp on the round pictured.

Other than that, your ammo looks very good.

Try increasing the crimp just a hair - and by that I mean turning the die clockwise 1/8 of a turn.

Also, try loading them to 1.125". I think you'll find they feed better.

Last edited: