ME ltc non-resident

Anyone have Maine non resident ltc A? Im always going up to our camp in Maine, and figured it might now be a good time to go ahead and apply. Is it a pain to get or fairly painless? Im a Army Vet with my brain intact, so hopefully that helps me in the application process, any info you guys have is greatly appreciated..thanks

Mine just arrived. Took about two months from application to delivery. Used my Utah course and DD 214. 10 pages of application but pretty simple and painless.

Anybody know if a photocopy of my NRA Instructors Certification will pass as proof of knowledge of safety?

My original safety cert is way older than 5 years but I think my Instructors Cert falls within 5 years but there is no issuing date on it. Just an expiration date.

I guess if I have to I can just make out a safety cert for myself as instructed by myself. But that's sure to look weird from an LEO's perspective.

ETA: Never mind. I just read ME has reciprocity with NH so I'm golden.

ETAA: Double never mind. Totally read that reciprocity thing wrong.

I'll send along the cert copy.

Last edited:
Anybody know if a photocopy of my NRA Instructors Certification will pass as proof of knowledge of safety?
It worked for me, but I'd suggest sending a copy of the MA instructor's certificate as well.

I know its already been said but want to be clear, my safety course I took in MA about 2 years ago will qualify as having already taken a safety course for the ME Non-Res? I am a Army Vet, so I will need a copy of my MA safety course certificate, my DD214, and a photocopy of my MA Ltc to go along with 2 passport photos? One more question, what is the length of the permit in ME, is it as long as the MA ltc, or shorter due to being out of state? Thanks for helping guys.

I know its already been said but want to be clear, my safety course I took in MA about 2 years ago will qualify as having already taken a safety course for the ME Non-Res? YES