• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

M1 Garand HELP!

I am new to the M1 and have shot my new purchase only three times so far. the first day was fantastic with no issues whatsoever, shot three different brands of ammo including milsurp. Went to the range the other day and now she won't feed every time. The bolt cycles, but closes on an empty chamber, and sometimes the enbloc clop will not eject after the last round is fired and the bolt does not lock back. Any suggestions before I ship it to a gunsmith? I hate paying people to do things I should be able to do, but I don't want to be one of the customers who come into my shop with a box full of parts and says, " I thought it would be no big deal, it was just a thermostat."[rolleyes] I also don't want to "throw parts" at it and hope for the best. Any advise would be geatly appreciated.

Scott Duff's book lists 10 causes of "short cycling". If the rifle is clean and lubed properly (with grease where necessary) the ones I would check first are:

1. Check gas cylinder lock screw to make sure it is tight and not stuck open/leaking.
2. Clean / remove carbon from gas cylinder.
3. Weak or broken operating rod spring. You may want to replace this spring anyway. It is probably 50 years old.

If those dont work let us know.

Long-range gun-smithing is difficult at best. But I would start by asking a few questions.

What kinds of ammo did you use? You mentioned milsurp but was there any commercial ammo? What weight bullet? Garands are notoriously selective on ammo, it has to be mil-spec or very close to continue to work right.

Do you know how to take this rifle apart, clean and lubricate it, then re-assemble it? If not, find someone who does.

Often with a new and unfamiliar firearm some one-on-one work with an experienced shooter/gunsmith is the best way to find out what is going on.