• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Letter of reference?

A friend from Milton is applying for her ltc and needs a letter of recommendation. Bullshit I know but told her I'd do it. Except I've never written one before for anything, I searched the forum with no luck. Was hoping there's a template someone here has or could reccomend?

Thanks in advance.

I thought that there was a thread (likely in the proper forum-MA gun laws) on this topic.

At any rate, here's my take on it - things to call out in your letter:

- How long you've known the person.
- How you know the person (friend, co-worker, etc.).
- Pointing out that the person is reasonable, not a drunk/drug user, responsible, family man (if appropriate), reliable worker (if appropriate) with a level head, etc.
- That you are aware that this person is applying for a LTC and believe that said person would be very responsible and should be issued an unrestricted LTC.

The outfit that I just took the basic course with last month said keep it short and sweet. This is the example they gave:

Dear chief of police and licensing officer,

I have known so and so for so many years. I know him/her to be an educated, hard working, and responsible person. I understand he/she is applying for a gun license and I see no reason why he/she should be denied.

In Worcester they don't even look at them, just goes in the file. The never call references either. i have written letters for a lot of people and have never receive 1 call to confirm I even wrote the letter.

This is what I have always used

10/27/2015

To whom it may concern:

I have known John Doe for more than XX years.

I feel that John Doe is the type of person who is responsible enough to be allowed to own and carry fire arms. If you have any questions and would like to contact me please do not hesitate to call.

Sincerely ,

Your name here
Your address Here