Lefty shooters

I'm ambidextrous and even play the accordion. I naturally write lefty. As I grew up I decided to try everything I did lefty as a righty and over the years can do pretty much everything with both hands pretty much equally. When it came to shooting, I taught myself to shoot both hands for both pistol and rifle. I decided that there may someday be a situation where one side might improve my chances over the other so being able to pick up a pistol with either hand (I mostly shoot one handed) might turn out to be an advantage. I do carry lefty, however, as it seems to be my natural tendency.

I'm a pistol and rifle instructor and being both-handed helps in teaching both right and left hand pupils.

As for specifics, shooting really nice shotguns with cast-on or cast-off can cause it to be uncomfortable so my shotguns are all cast-off for a righty shooter and I shoot righty.

For any lefty out there who would like a nice military shooter that leans heavily to a lefty, find a VZ52/57 which shoots 7.62 x 39. They (as well as the VZ52) eject to the LEFT, different that virtually all other military rifles. They're very comfortable in that regard.

BTW, 10% of the population are left-handed. As you probably know, lefties use their right side predominantly as opposed to righties who use their left side predominantly. Therefore, Lefties are the only ones in their right minds!
[laugh]
Rome

I'm lefty and am so happy I am as I can close the slide with
my forefinger without interupting my site picture. You learn to adapt to whatever you shoot.

I'm lefty and am so happy I am as I can close the slide with
my forefinger without interupting my site picture. You learn to adapt to whatever you shoot.

Me 2. Slide with forefinger. Mag release with middle. Even slide lock with forefinger but that takes practice.

By the way, everyone is born right handed, but the great ones get over it. Jack.