• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Hunting Ethics

I had this on my mind and wanted to know what y'all think...I've been hunting for 13 years now, taken two deer over that time. A few Years ago, I was hunting a distant relative's property for the first time. One other gentleman was hunting there as well whom I actually bumped into on my way through the woods.

Around 8:30am, I had a line of doe come through and I placed a shot on the largest one I saw. About 60 seconds later I heard a shot presumably from the other hunter. As I got up to track the doe, I came upon him standing with the deer down about 50 yards from where I had shot.

My shot was a little far back, puncturing the diaphram and grazed the stomach from what I could tell. (Maybe a bit of lung? There was a pretty heavy bright blood trail) His shot was on the spine at the base of the neck.

We were both unsure what to do next. After a friendly conversation, dressing the deer together, and some hem and hawing, I decided to offer up the deer for him to tag.

Seems that this is a coin toss situation. Some people I talk to say first blood should take the harvest (within a reasonable distance), others say kill shot. I'm curious of your folks' input!

First shot gets the deer the second one "finishes it" in my opinion.

Either way......the one that tags it should be offering the other guy a fair amount of packages for the freezer!

Had a similar situation with my buddy last year during bow season. He had a spike come in on him head on. He took a shot and it graze the skull and startled the buck.
So about 10 min later and 250 yds away I have a buck come in on me. Nibbling grass and just nosing around like nothing happened.
I draw and shoot. Perfect shot through both lungs. He bolts and kicks out about 75 yds from my stand.