• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

How many of you use a boresighter to zero the red dots on your handguns?

I like using a red lazer in the bore before any shooting , gets me very close , then take a shot or 2 at the range & make the final adjustment to dead on
I use the same system with scopes also works out very well for me

I use a cheapo laser cartridge. It is not nearly as repeatable as a trued bore-sight, but it’s a lot faster and even with a bore-sight you’re going to want to confirm zero at the range. The laser cartridge lets me get pretty close.

For rifles, I look down the bore.

The pros take one shot at the target, then move the dot to match the shot. Done. Second shot = bullseye.

At least I do it that way, and I am a certified NES Stud Operator Sniper.

Is that a 6.5CM pistol?

Boresight for pistols? If you install correctly the red dot and you fire off one shot at 10-15 yards and cant see/ assess the impact - something is seriously tweaked and you should check your installation. A properly mounted (new) red dot will be in the ballpark from the get go.

Rifles? Now that is a different story. With the price of ammo and variables in the scope/ red dot mounting options I will always run a laser boresight initially to at least get me on the paper...

Last edited:
I use a cheapo laser cartridge. It is not nearly as repeatable as a trued bore-sight, but it’s a lot faster and even with a bore-sight you’re going to want to confirm zero at the range. The laser cartridge lets me get pretty close.

For rifles, I look down the bore.

Is that a 6.5CM pistol?
No, it is how I do it with all my handguns, the latest being a .22.

I take a shot.
Place the gun on the table and hold it with one hand while placing the barrel on a rest (for stability) with the dot aimed at the center.
With the other hand I turn the adjustment so the dot moves over the impact.
Done.