How Important is a Free Float Handguard on an AR-15 Anyway? (Oh, Dear.)

It's obvious that I'm an AR platform Newbie. I have a Stag Model 4 with a 20" heavy profile barrel and I like it a lot; it's my first AR platform rifle and I decided to go with something a little bit "retro" - but with a heavy barrel because I like the way the rifle feels (which has everything to do with how I was trained to shoot rifles.)

But I have to ask this question - because, well, I have to. I'm hoping we can have a nice, gnarly discussion with some real experience beyond mine and some real engineering and/or gunsmithing knowledge thrown in, so here goes:

HOW IMPORTANT IS A FREE-FLOATING HANDGUARD ON AN AR-15 RIFLE?

Subsidiary questions:

1) Why?
2) If free floating handguards were so important, why didn't Armalite/Colt and so many others manufacture them that way from the beginning?
3) If free floating handguards are so important, does anyone have credible measurement data to suggest what the "improvement" is?
4) Is it just a matter of not having the *sling* attached to the barrel or is it that front point of contact?
5) If free floating handguards are so important, does the barrel profile matter too?
6) Which is more important to the average shooter - a free floating handguard or ammunition that peforms better, shot after shot?
7) Has anyone ever really documented an improvement in accuracy using the same gun with and without a free floating handguard?

I'll stop at 7 because I don't want to cause a bigger fight than it's worth ;). Also my avatar pic. stops at 7. However, I would be interested to know - and I guess the question boils down to:

"Free Floating Handguards - Important Accessory or Tacticool Froufrou?"

I appreciate any civilized discussion on this matter possible, because I don't know the answers. Please educate me and please try to stay on-topic.

Last edited: