help with my first revolver

cb1

I brought home a S&W 649 last night (my first revolver) and thought I'd give it a good cleaning before taking it out on a test run. However, while cleaning I noticed that the patches were catching on the inside of the barrel near the cylinder.

IMG_0331.jpg

I'm not concerned about the material itself being stuck in the barrel, but should I be concerned about what the patches are catching on? Or is this normal? I'm still new to the world of firearms so I'd rather ask dumb questions instead of getting myself hurt via firing an unsafe gun. This is a new revolver.

Thanks in advance for any replies.

Probably not a problem. That is the beginning of the bore and the part the patch is catching on is the start of one of the lands. Normally lands are ramped to gradually guide the round into the bore but the angle of that ramp varies with gun. Can you post that same picture without the patch stuck there so we can see what it looks like? Can't really tell squat with the patch there.

There is an over sized funnel shaped area called a forcing cone that actually catches the bullet after it jumps a little gap between the cylinder and the barrel. it's designed to correct a minor misalignment of the chamber if isn't indexed properly. There may be a tiny bit of copper jacket caught where the rifling begins or a slight burr in the steal.

Here is the good news, If there is one place to have a problem with the bore that will be the place.

I would not be concerned about this at all in regards to firing safety. After a good cleaning and a few more rounds down the pipe I would look at it again.

Good luck,

--Mike

Can you post that same picture without the patch stuck there so we can see what it looks like? Can't really tell squat with the patch there.

I did my best to get a picture from the same angle:

IMG_0340.jpg

In some different lighting you can see exactly where the patch was catching:

IMG_0346.jpg