• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

For guys who have done FTF sales in MA

I want to sell a pistol pretty soon, and was wondering how you guys set up your FTF sales from a logistics stand point?
I'm aware of the E FA10 form etc.... but am more interested in hearing how you actually do the "meet up" and legal paper work.

Can you print the E FA10 form before hand, meet somewhere, fill it out, and then enter the info online after? OR, do you meet somewhere with a laptop and do the E FA10 form together (I suppose you would also need to print hard copies)? I've never done a FTF sale before and would like to make it as easy as possible for both the buyer and myself.

I typically pick a public place or range and bring a friend or will find a dealer and pay the transfer fee. In the past I have printed out the forms and filled out the seller section before the meet up to save time. If you can still find the carbon copy version at local pd get a couple and you only fill it out once. Bring a couple black pens and keep in mind that the buyer section takes more time to fill out. I will always handle the mailing in of forms if you don't do an e fa10. I start by checking LTC and that they have the correct funds. Then proceed with paperwork etc. As a side note I will always carry to these FTF meetings and keep the firearm(s) unloaded and secured until transaction is complete.

I would do an e-fa-10 if you possibly can, i have found it to be much easier. I go to my office during an off time and do the transaction, if you belong to a club that is a great place for it

First off thanks for going green on your first post.