First Trip to the Range

This may not warrant a new thread but I was pretty excited about it so I figured I'd post.

I took a trip to an outdoor range today with the instructor of the firearm safety course at a nearby a gun shop. He was gracious enough to do this for a small fee because I told him how much I felt I needed some one-on-one instruction (my gun safety course did not include live fire and I have zero experience with guns).

He brought a small .38 revolver, Ruger SR9, and the M & P .45. I fired the .38 first and managed somehow to miss the target all five times. haha. Tough gun to shoot for me.

Thankfully, things got significantly better with the semi-automatics and I think I did pretty well for my first time shooting. I found the M & P easier to shoot and more accurate for me than the SR9. I may be purchasing one at some point(though I might go with the 9 mm or .40 version).

That's all. [smile]

Welcome, jds! That first time is an experience for sure. Your taste will change over time most probably - but the "flavors" are great no matter what!! [grin]

Welcome and CONGRATULATIONS on being smart enough to recognize you wanted and needed some chaperoned live fire experience!

This is a great place to be.

Congrats and welcome! Don't worry about the 5-shot .38 - if it was a snubbie, it's more of a Shooting 201 (or Shooting 301) level handgun if you want accuracy.

I'm sure folks will chime in to get a .22 for training & practice (Shooting 101) and I think that is sound advice.

This may not warrant a new thread but I was pretty excited about it so I figured I'd post.

I took a trip to an outdoor range today with the instructor of the firearm safety course at a nearby a gun shop. He was gracious enough to do this for a small fee because I told him how much I felt I needed some one-on-one instruction (my gun safety course did not include live fire and I have zero experience with guns).