FAL Scope Recommendation?

MaverickNH

NES Member
I have a Imbel FAL and put an Ultrdot MicroDot 1.5x - 4.5x20 scope on it http://www.ultradotusa.com/ultradot_dist_blue_007.htm with see-through mounts attached to a cover. It turns out I didn't check the Eye Relief specs which are 101/103mm (1.5x/4.5), which makes it difficult to acquire quickly. If I don't index cheek to stock just right, I can't get a sight picture, even at 1.5x. I'm no scope expert and just have red-dot 1x sights on my other rifles/carbines (AimPoint CompM, etc.) and didn't/don't know enough to pick scopes.

I'm looking for another option that has 1x - 3x mag capability and a red-dot, but with Eye Relief that allows faster acquisition. I'm still interested in a see-through mount as well.

Any recommendations appreciated. As always, cost is an issue, but reliability and performance are, of course, essential.

Had you given any thought to the Trilux? The FAL has a specific mount that replaces the cover on your FAL and that accepts that specific scope. It's really the one that was made for the FAL. It's not a target scope, however. It's a combat scope if you're not familiar with it. It has an inverted pin (coming down from the top of the scope body) that uncovers a target under rapid fire. It's got fixed optics and is 4x. For low light situations, the reticle/pin is illuminated, originally with a Tritium source but now mostly with an LED.

Here's what they look like.

completely%20finished%20NZ%20fal%20%20800.jpg

This is the semi-auto inch version of the FAL of course but this scope was used on both.

Rome

Thanks! Original New Zealand Airforce lumber, to be exact. Tapco had it for sale way back when these rifle kits were flooding the market. That's a rack emblem on the buttstock. The killer is this. I believe I paid about $10 for it.....the lumber that is. Tapco only had a few and I lucked out. FYI That's a CAI receiver on an Aussie kit. It is a virtual tackdriver and super duper reliable.

Rome