Enfield barrel removal

quarter28

NES Member
I'm having a hard time removing a bad barrel from an no4 mk1
It's been about a week or more of liquid wrench and pb blaster but it isn't loose yet.
Anyone have any tips? Really want to try and save the receiver.

I'm no expert, but here's what I would do. Put the whole thing in the freezer overnight, then moving quickly, in the vice, pour a bucket of hot water on the just receiver and turn hard. You'd be amazed how thermal expansion can help.

I,have a no4 that could use a barrel . When I looked into it there where not many options for barrels out there.
I have read the Enfields have some very tight barrels. First thing I would doc is ditch the PB blaster and liquid wrench I feel these are nothing more the psychological support.
Get some Kroil let it sit for a few days. Thermal expansion does wonders also. The right tools do wonders also. I looked into a receiver wrench and all I could find was one from brownells or poke around the forums hoping a original armors wrench came along.

I second the Kroil recommendation.
I don't know about removing the Enfield barrel specifically, but I know Kroil is what you want for a penetrating oil.

Last edited:
I actually tried Kroil in between Liquid Wrench and PB BLaster. It did appear to seep in better than the other two. I'll switch back.

We also hit the receiver with a torch for a little bit but it didn't help in any perceptible way. Freezer sounds like a good idea but I don't have one big enough unless I cut off most of the barrel. Will keep at it.

I actually tried Kroil in between Liquid Wrench and PB BLaster. It did appear to seep in better than the other two. I'll switch back.

We also hit the receiver with a torch for a little bit but it didn't help in any perceptible way. Freezer sounds like a good idea but I don't have one big enough unless I cut off most of the barrel. Will keep at it.

Heat is a bad idea.... they are tight.