Deer hunting on marthas vineyard

Atlantis

NES Member
Hey all,

Curious if any of you are tied into the MV deer hunting scene already. I'm very new to hunting in general, a good friend of mine invited me on a small deer drive out in Boxford last year during shotgun season. Hopefully we will have better success this year. I've heard and read stories about the action over on the Vineyard, and had a few questions:

1) Are any of you planning on going over there this year and if so, would you be open to my buddy and me participating in your group?

2) Is there a butcher/meat processing location on the island or do you typically just take the harvest back on the ferry and process yourself/go to your favorite mainland processor?

3) Is there enough public land to be worthwhile or is it really important to have access to private land?

I don't know about MV, but years back 3 of us went to Nantucket. High hopes, unlimited doe permits. Worst hunting experience in my life. Huge drives done by scumbags that just open up with buckshot at anything that moves. Little skippers that were blasted to bits, (all the deer were small and sickly), legs hanging etc. After about two hours of watching the carnage and hoping not to get shot, we went back to town and headed to the mainland. All of the worst you hear of unethical, unsafe hunting was on display.

I don't know about MV, but years back 3 of us went to Nantucket. High hopes, unlimited doe permits. Worst hunting experience in my life. Huge drives done by scumbags that just open up with buckshot at anything that moves. Little skippers that were blasted to bits, (all the deer were small and sickly), legs hanging etc. After about two hours of watching the carnage and hoping not to get shot, we went back to town and headed to the mainland. All of the worst you hear of unethical, unsafe hunting was on display.

Yeah I read a few threads alluding to that. I’m guessing that’s where private land/being with the right group might help?