• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Can MA residents buy ammo out of state?

Hey guys, I did a search, both here and google, but got conflicting results. I am a MA resident on the NY/VT line, I travel to NY, CT, and NH about once a week for work, I need to know if I can buy ammo (.22 and 9mm only) out of state if I come across a good deal?

Thanks,
Mike

Sent from my iPad Mini using Tapatalk

As long as your duly licensed to own in home state for example ct is 18 for rifle ammo 21 pistol so you can buy there and return to Ma if thats where you live. Hope that makes sense.

I think the O.P. was moreso asking if he'll be given any trouble by the out of state store... my answer is that I've bought ammo in NH, VT and CT without them so much as asking for a driver's license.
(And in MA, for that matter, before I even moved back here.... but I'm sure MA is more strict now....that was in 2000.)

I live in NH, when I purchase at Walmart they ask to glance at my drivers license, I guess to show I am a resident. Otherwise I think if you produce a LTC from another state that would work.

When I purchase at NH gunshops they have only asked for the payment.

I was told that possession of ammo (even shells) was against the law in MA without an FID/LTC. I am not sure even empties are, but that's what I was told. I'd prefer to get it in NH - a nice small place with lots of toys is my preference rather than the big guys who get all the dough!

I go to Cabellas in CT and load up on ammo. Only thing they ask to see is a fist full of money.

This.

I went there a couple of weeks ago. Well-stocked shelves, for the most part. I picked up what I wanted, walked through the rest of the store, and to the cash register where I paid cash for my purchase. No ID, no recording of any numbers. It was almost surreal, how I was treated as an adult making a legal purchase.