"Building" an AR in .308

JCV

NES Member
Gonna be using a QD .308 lower. It' compatible with DPMS style upper receivers, Pmags, DPMS style mags and SR-25 mags. (no idea what any of those are except the pmags.) I'm a newb to this .308 AR stuff and not sure on the different variations yet.

I do know I have read mixed reviews on DPMS branded parts. Are they a mfg I should avoid?
Time to start looking into what I need and collecting everything. Bring on the fun!

Barrels are the main thing I'd not use from then.I've heard mix reviews on the barrels from them. Don't know about there bcg. The rest of there ar parts are like most other company's in the price range.

I think Al's mini ar used there lpk. Trigger wasn't bad , better then my rra .

I think I want an 18" barrel, maybe 20". I am pretty sure I want a mid length gas system. I know I can have this on an 18" bbl, not sure about a 20".

I'll look at your build thread China.

I can use an AR15 rifle stock and buffer assembly?

Yes, just keep in mind that the charging handle will come back a bit further so if you have a cheek riser or something like that you may need to mess with it. That's why Magpul makes a .308 specific PRS stock - the cheek riser is like half an inch further back than the .223 version, other than that they're identical.

I can use an AR15 rifle stock and buffer assembly?

From what dropride told us (ninemilshooter, and I) it's a different buffer and spring that will go into your standard mil-spec buffer tube.

One of the stocks I'm getting via the MagPul group buy will be destined for my AR10. Which one doesn't matter much right now. Especially since I'll be able to swap them out until I decide. Bonus item due to not having to pin the bastards. [laugh]

I got a rainier 16" barrel for mine. the first one they sent me was a mess. The replacement was in much better shape.