Browning shotgun help

hey guys,

I have a 20ga browning gold hunter and today I took it out to patern it with a couple of different loads...only to have the gun not fire. I am by no means an expert, but I took the gun apart to see if there were any visible problems (which there weren't). I tried and tried again to get it to fire to no avail. I thought it might be dirty and wasnt returning to battery fully, nope...fully returning all the way forward. Does anyone have any ideas? This is bar none my favorite shotgun and I really want it to work correctly. Prior to this the gun had sat for a bit but none of the mechanisms seemed dirty, gunked, or unlubricated

HELP PLEASE!!!!

Dom

Take the safety off...

No, but in seriousness you'd have to go through a process of function checking and give us more detail in order to really understand what is going on...

the primers are not dinged, i have taken everything apart and to my knowledge is functioning. the trigger breaks, launches the hammer, it strikes (you can hear it go "PINK!") Ive chambered 2 3/4" shells, 3" shells, checked to make sure the barrel was seated correctly, made sure all the gas components were existing and correctly installed...

Sounds like a broken or blocked firing pin

based on the schematic:

http://www.brownells.com/.aspx/pid=0/sid=408/schematicsdetail/Gold-12-20-Ga

You say, "[you've] taken everything apart", but was that just dropping the trigger group?
If yes, I'd remove the bolt carrier, and see if it's all crudded up, or if you have a broken part. Gas operated guns tend to get dirty, fast.....

no, i know how to take the gun down to nothing, ive had the bolt carrier, bolt, trigger group out. had her stripped, i think the firing pin is blocked or broken as well. i can see the hammer drop and fall all the way forwards. Should I send it to Browning or to a good smith?

Dom

hmmmm.... missing spring?