Broke a tap off in my Saiga!

hillman

NES Member
So I am converting my Saiga 7.62x39 to accept AK mags, and I got the bullet guide kit which came with a drill and tap.

Drilled through the trunion with no problems. Then I started the tap and broke it off...inside the hole, too deep to grab with needle nose pliers.

Any tips on getting that stinking tap out of the hole? Searching on the Saiga-12 forums pretty much leads me to believe the only way is to get a hardened steel nail punch and beat the crap out of it until it shatters or breaks enough to come out.

Can I just say that it is a heartsinking feeling when you do something like this... I need an UNDO button.

Well I am no expert, and I am not familiar with the kit your using but based on your description, could you use a smaller diameter drill to drill out the middle of the broken part and then use one of the extractor bits from Sears to unscrew the tap. I think the bits are called "Grab-it" or something like that

As a side note, if you do manage to get the tap out without messing up the project, use cutting oil and quarter turns on the (new) tap.

Good Luck, I built a screw build AK-47 that taught me some tough lessons about tapping.

They have special tap removers, They have fingers that fit into the flutes on the tap. here is an example http://www.use-enco.com/CGI/INSRIT?PMAKA=325-4867&PMPXNO=5809952&PARTPG=INLMK32

+1

you can't drill out a tap. You might be able to EDM it out, but the tap is harder than any drill you have. The drill will walk and you'll be screwed

As the above poster said they make a tool with hardened fingers that will slide down the flutes and then you try to back the tap out

The above is correct, you cannot drill a tap, to hard. I have a set of tap extractors which MAY work if things aren't jambed up to bad, I know I destroyed one years ago, the smaller ones tend to be flimsy. send me a PM and I'll see what I can do.

Well... that sucks.