Are Kimbers worth it??

I been looking at a Kimber Crimson Carry II at my local shop. I reall want a compact .45 but $1,100 seems a lot. So is it worth paying almost double? I realize its all what you like but I guess ounce for ounce are they that much better.

Thanks

no, Kimber uses their customers to do the QC. If it doesn't run, Kimber will expect you to run 500 rounds through the gun to "break it in" before they will take it back... so add that to the cost

This should be good.

Deer-popcorn.gif

If you get a nice one, yes. If you get one with issues, no. There's very little way to tell the difference ahead of time.

On balance, I'd say no. If you're going to spend that much money on a gun, STI is better these days in that price range, and semi-custom options are a lot better (although, even more money).

I have no personal experience with Kimbers but I will pass on to you what was said to me by a local gunsmith who knows a lot about 1911s and who's opinion I respect. He told me that you will see a lot of people talk crap about Kimber online but not to believe it. He told me that his opinion is that they are a nice gun and he rarely sees them in his shop because they don't seem to break. IMO, S&W also makes a very nice 1911 for the price so that's what I ended up going with.

I been looking at a Kimber Crimson Carry II at my local shop. I reall want a compact .45 but $1,100 seems a lot. So is it worth paying almost double? I realize its all what you like but I guess ounce for ounce are they that much better.
Double of what? They aren't double the cost of similar 1911 from a different company.

I own three Kimbers, all Series I. My usual carry gun is a full size, stainless steel Kimber Custom. Personally, I wouldn't buy a Kimber II. They've had issues with their Swartz-style firing pin safety and their external extractor.