• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

AR Upper & MA Compliance

I endeavor to build my own AR from parts. I'm a confused AR newbie with a question about MA compliance.

Is it true that I could order say an upper from LMT that has the evil features such as bayo lug and flash suppressor and have it shipped to my MA residence since the upper is not considered 'the gun'? This would be perfectly legal, yes?

Or can you not get an upper shipped to MA with those features?

However, once I mate that with a lower the 'gun' is now non MA compliant and I cannot register it as I am supposed to do, correct? Or since you have to register the lower when bought / sent to an FFL, you do not need to do anything once you mate upper and lower...?

If this is true there must be many non MA compliant guns in peoples safes at home...

Is it true that I could order say an upper from LMT that has the evil features such as bayo lug and flash suppressor and have it shipped to my MA residence since the upper is not considered 'the gun'? This would be perfectly legal, yes?

Yes. If you do not have a pre-ban lower in your house, I suppose that if you somehow came to the attention of the local gendarmes, you might possibly get charged with violating the AWB through constructive possession.

Or can you not get an upper shipped to MA with those features?

You can buy an upper with or without those features and have either shipped to MA.

However, once I mate that with a lower the 'gun' is now non MA compliant and I cannot register it as I am supposed to do, correct?

If you mate an upper in pre-ban configuration with a post-ban lower in MA, then you have just committed a felony. Don't do it.