AR Question

dreppucci007

NES Member
So I'm still learning about ARs...

Can someone tell me what difference an HBAR is from any other AR? Are they not made as well? I only say that because I see on the Four Seasons website that there are a couple Colt ARs for sale, and the HBAR is significantly less, and it seems as though it's that way for other shops, too. When I was at Four Seasons the other day, I tried asking the guys there about ARs, but they said that Carl knows best about them (Carl wasn't there of course) and they didn't seem to be able to answer my questions. I held the HBAR and it seemed pretty nice.

TIA

From what I know, which is not much, the HBAR seems to be a barrel which is the same thickness all the way down, and that is pretty thick. I think it is supposed to be more consistent for target shooting having less expansion as it warms up. I also think it might be cheaper because it means they don't have to turn it on a lathe to get off all the material like they do on the profiled barrels. The downside is that it is heavier than it would otherwise be, which is a pain if you are going to be holding the thing off of a bench for any length of time.

But I could be full of s**t here, I'm just going on what I read on AR15.com once upon a time.