AR Assembly ? - Lube & Grease?

What do I really need for lube/grease when assembling my AR? Will plain old Hoppe's No. 9 Lube Oil suffice?

I've read some places that grease is necessary?

Can someone give me, or point me to, a "Lubing your AR for dummies" run-down? What parts get lube oil vs. grease, etc.

I'm VERY green at this, so you may have to translate into layman's terms. Pics would be helpfull too.

Thanks in advance. I'm almost there!

I've never fired an AR myself, but I have some experience with similar designs. Grease is absolutely not necessary at all for any component. Any oil will work, though the smell of CLP brings a smile to my face.

I was a "Break Free" fan for years with great results. When the price got to $6.00 for four ounces at the local gun store, I started to look for a replacement. Synthetic motor oil was a "no brainer". When you compare the hostile environment of an internal combustion engine to the relatively minimal demands of a firearm; synthetic oil seems like "over kill". A quart of premium synthetic goes for about $8 to $10. That's a life time supply of gun oil for about $10!

I was a "Break Free" fan for years with great results. When the price got to $6.00 for four ounces at the local gun store, I started to look for a replacement. Synthetic motor oil was a "no brainer". When you compare the hostile environment of an internal combustion engine to the relatively minimal demands of a firearm; synthetic oil seems like "over kill". A quart of premium synthetic goes for about $8 to $10. That's a life time supply of gun oil for about $10!

What kind of oil do you use?

If you are talking about assembling a barrel to an upper, you will need grease on the extension and a little on the threads. I used a moly grease from a car parts store and it worked great.

If you are talking about lubrication and protection for your rifle then Mobil 1 works good as does CLP. +1 on the smell of CLP.

What kind of oil do you use?