Appleseed newbie questions

My shooting experience is minimal (and even that might be a charitable description). My limited military shooting was all with .45 pistol and Mossberg 12 ga. Civilian experience is a couple of hunting trips with my dad (he hunts, I carry a gun around the woods so I can spend some time with the old man doing what -he- likes [wink]).

The above being the case, I have no experience with many of the basics: Sighting in and Cleaning being at the top of the "Stuff I REALLY Ought to Know" list.

I'm still in the planning stages of getting to an Appleseed shoot (hoping for Calverton on Oct 23/24). I picked up a 10/22 and a few extra magazines. I've ordered the Tech Sights, adjusting tool, and a sling.

Aside from all the other physical stuff (ammo, sunblock, etc.) listed in posts here and on the Appleseed forums, what is the minimum knowledge level that I should be at before coming down? Do I need to get to the range beforehand and get sighted in?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Bring what you got and we'll take you the rest of the way.....

That said, do yourself a favor and become familiar with your rifle, put a few hundred rounds through it and clean it if its new... make sure its reliable. It is often easier to work out equipment issues like that before you come to an event.

Every Instructor there will be more than willing to assist any and everybody no matter what the experience or lack of.

Many people who show up to an Appleseed have never even held a firearm ever in their lives. Many people have shown up that bought their rifle the day before.

Like Ninsho said, just try and get to the range to make sure your brand new rifle doesn't have any issues from the factory. Don't worry about sighting it in, we will go through that entire process.

Make sure you loctite those Tech Sites.

Also, did you order the hardware so you can mount your sling to your 10/22?

Make sure you loctite those Tech Sites.