Ammo So much to buy!

Ok So I'm relatively new to the world of firearms. About one year. Ive managed to get my hands on a beautiful colt sporter preban with a 1 in 6 twist barrel. I mention that because the guy I bought it from told me to be careful what grain ammo I put through it. Something about the round tumbling.

So here is my question. I'm looking to get as much 7.62 and .223 ammo as I can pick up (planning on an SKS in the near future[smile]) And I'm EXTREMELY confused with all the different type ammo that is out there. From the grain count to the jacket on the bullet. I just don't wanna buy something that is garbage. What should I look for when buying! HELP HELP! [thinking]

The tighter twist rate of 1 in 6 is ideal for heavier grain rounds like the M856, which is 64grns. You can shoot the lighter 55grn rnds with that bbl, but they can overspin. This can cause tumbling and could actually cause the round to come apart before reaching their target. Obviously effecting accuracy.

Look for heavier weight bullets and you should be good.

what about in reference to different "jackets" such as some polymer coated 7.62 I saw. Is there a benefit/draw back to this? Should I stay away from steel jacketed stuff??

Everything you ever wanted to know about .223/5.56 ammo (and probably a lot you never knew you wanted to know):

http://www.razoreye.net/mirror/ammo-oracle/AR15_com_Ammo_Oracle_Mirror.htm

Read everything, its well worth it.

1:6 twist? Never heard of an AR with that, you sure it isn't 1:7, look on the barrel, it should be stamped on it somewhere.

Also be aware that ammo prices have spiked recently due to Obama, so don't go wasting your money on 300% price inflated ammo at the moment.

HKdrummer19, you probably know this, but I keep seeing you say "7.62" ammo.

Remember there are MANY 7.62 rounds,, 7.62x51, 7.62x39, 7.62x54R... all for different guns.

If your thinking about a russian gun, if it's a semi, it's probably 7.62x39.