• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

A few questions about getting an LTC in Boston

e2d

I am a resident of Boston and I am interested in applying for an LTC-Class A. I realize it will be restricted to Target or reduced to Class B, but I only want it for target shooting anyway. I have read in detail about the application process in Boston. I plan on joining a gun club (maybe Massachusetts Rifle Association) and I don’t think I’ll have trouble passing the Moon Island test. I still have a few questions that I can’t find answers for.

1. I just turned 21 and I was wondering if this would be a problem. It wouldn’t surprise me if Boston Police decided I am too young to own a gun, even though I qualify for an LTC under the MGLs. I am a college graduate and an electrical engineer but I’m still worried about being discriminated against because of my age.

2. All of my friends here are still college students (I graduated early). This means that they are not considered residents of Boston, and most aren’t even residents of Massachusetts. I understand I need two references but do they need to be Boston or Massachusetts residents? The two people I am thinking of using are New York residents and one lives in a dorm in Boston. Would this be an issue? Does the age of the references matter (they’re both 20)? Do they normally contact the references, and if they do is it by mail or phone?

3. Can anyone tell me what the interview is like at Boston Police HQ. Do they just ask about your background and such or does it get more detailed then that?

Thanks in advanced for your help.

1. I got my LTC the summer after graduating at age 22. No one even blinked at that, although I had had the same thought as you before going. What school did you graduate?