45-70 vs 30.06

I know this has been beaten to death all over the web but needed to ask. I'm looking to get a new rifle for bear hunting in Massachusetts and something I can use in the brush in other New England states. I'm narrowed it down to either a Marlin 45-70 or a Browning BLR 30.06. I wanted to get input from people who hunt this area before I bought. This is my first year hunting so I'm trying to ask every question I can.
Thanks in advance.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Either will work for Mass. bear.

You'll get better long-range performance out of the .30-'06 but that's not a huge factor in Mass.

Black bear are not grizzlies - you do not need a cannon. With either, and appropriate hunting loads, you'll do fine. You will have a wider selection of ammo with the .30-'06.

Whichever one you get.....practice. Then, practice some more. Bench, off hand, sitting, kneeling, wearing the same clothes you'll have in the woods.

Either will work for Mass. bear.

You'll get better long-range performance out of the .30-'06 but that's not a huge factor in Mass.

Black bear are not grizzlies - you do not need a cannon. With either, and appropriate hunting loads, you'll do fine. You will have a wider selection of ammo with the .30-'06.

Whichever one you get.....practice. Then, practice some more. Bench, off hand, sitting, kneeling, wearing the same clothes you'll have in the woods.

They both priced the same that's why I'm asking. I like the power of the 45-70 for close range but you are right I get a better ammo selection with the 30-06. Would the 30.06 over penetrate under 100 yards?

The 45-70 is a good bear gun. The '06 is a good everything gun.
45-70 is mainly in lever guns and the 06 in bolt. Advantage in bolt gun is easier to get an accurate gun with a good trigger.

If I was only going to have one rifle it would be '06. If I was going to only hunt bear I would do 45-70.