.32 ACP in an old S&W revolver?

I know I am gonna get blasted for this question, but I bought an IMG_20210719_140448.jpg older (but very sturdy seeming) S&W .32 revolver, Model 732. It was inexpensive and I bought it for the purposes of using some of the 200 rounds of .32 I bought for a Seecamp (which didn't fit, in part because I am an idiot, and in part because other people are also idiots).

Course I get it home, use the Google and realize the .32 is made for .32 S&W. Which I should have known, but I am still learning.

I know the ACP is a higher powered round but it still isn't terribly powerful and this revolver looks (I know, I'm an idiot) like it could handle it. Looking online, most people say don't do it, but others say they do it, and some say just don't use .32 ACP in a top-break .32 S&W revolver.

I really just wanted to do something with the surplus ammo I had, and didn't want to get into a second .32 ammo type.

Any advice is appreciated.

Mike

A lot of people could probably tell you just what round to use simply by looking at this revolver.

But I would suggest that you bring it to a competent gunsmith to examine it first.

You look to have a H&R 732. .32 S&W or long. Modern manufacture. .32 ACP is semi rimmed and can be used in some .32 S&W revolvers. As to using it in your gun if it chambers and headspaces correctly in each chamber you will have to decide to pull the trigger. You might look up Ken Waters and his load data for both the S&W round and the .32 ACP.

Besides being too high pressure, .32ACP wouldn't work properly in the cylinder because its semi-rimmed, not rimmed like .32S&W. The .32ACP cartridge would either sit on the semi-rim with the end of cartridge exposed or would be inside the cylinder, meaning you'd have to poke it out with a rod of some sort.

This isn't like .45 Auto Rim and .45ACP, the two cartridges here aren't interchangeable.