.22 recommendation

I am new to shooting and I was told by a friend that I should buy a .40 which in my opinion was a mistake to learn on. MY .40 is an S&W MP and now I want to buy a .22 to be able to shoot off more ammo to get comfortable with shooting then when I am move on to shooting the .40 (hopefully when ammo is more readily available). My question is should I look at staying with a S&W due to the .40 being a S&W? Or should I just get whatever feels most comfortable in my hand? Any opinions or .22 recommendations for a complete new shooter are appreciated.

Thanks.

Ruger or S&W and you can't go wrong.

Getting a S&W Because your your M&P is an S&W is not a good reason.

Last edited:
I wouldnt worry about sticking with a S&W.
Definitely get whatever 22 LR pistol felt best. My recommendation would be a Ruger MK II or III (get the 22/45 if you like the grip angle of a 1911 style pistol). One of the great things about Rugers is they are very easy to 'improve', with many drop in kits to improve trigger etc. There are many options from just about every company.
Another option, if available (sorry not an M&P shooter) would be an add on 22 LR slide for the M&P. This would let you practice with the exact grip and trigger.
If you want to try a revolver, I love my S&W 617 (10 shot).
J

Congrats on your entry into ownerhip and your wise decision to go for a .22.

A ruger MKII or MK III are fantastic semiauto .22's. Also, S&W's 22 and 422 are excellent choices as well.

ETA - comfort can not be overrated. Try to get your hands on as many as possible to try before you buy.

Last edited:
What are the differences between the MKII and III? Is one "better" than the other? Are there some types/brands to be avoided? How tough is the Ruger to take down and clean?

the only downside to the Rugers are they are a B I T C H to get back together after you clean them