• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

AR15 Lower legal in Massachusetts

I am new to this, and am building my own AR. I ordered a CMMG upper and had it shipped to a place that would remove and re parkerize the bayonet lug making it legal before it was shipped to MA. Will purchasing a stripped lower on gunbroker be legal to bring to Massachusetts. The one I planned to purchase was a Doublestar lower that does not say AR-15 on it. I am being told that it cannot be transfered to an FFL and brought into the state.
Thanks

Thanks, I appreciate the fast response. The Doublestar lower I have already "technically" bought for $85.00 free shipping. The seller is very understanding and I can still back out of it, but I do not see how it would be illegal to have in MA after going through all of the laws. If i had known about this website and Remsport before hand I definitely would have gone that route.
Thanks again

Your circumstances are confusing. When you say "transferred to an FFL and brought into the state" do you mean transfer to an out-of-state FFL and then you traveling there and then bringing it back here? If that's the case, the vendor is correct - you need to have the lower sent to an in-state FFL for transfer to you. A frame or receiver is considered by the BATFE to be "Other Firearms" and not transferable to a non-FFL out of state. This isn't a Massachusetts thing, it's a federal thing.

If you are a MA resident, you should be able to purchase a stripped lower from out of state and have it sent to your MA FFL for transfer to you. By the time you add in shipping and transfer fees, you're probably over the cost of buying one locally. The election was a long time ago and there are currently plenty of reasonably priced lowers to be found at your favorite dealer...as cshooter said above, why not reach out to John at Remsport and see what he can set up for you?