(yet another) Hunting Dog Referral request!

Here's the deal, I read the previous lab and shepherd, and X dog referral threads. I even pm'ed a couple people from them.

I'm looking for a hunting dog. Something that I can expect to snag duck/goose, pheasant, flush, and has a family history of being steady. Well biddable is a plus, along with the tenacity of a bull dog. (I'm a new trainer too, so I need smart.)

I'm not restricting to a particular breed, so I'd love breed and breeder recs.
It would be nice to have a pup that can be trained and competent for:
- Duck
- Goose
- Pheasant
- Quail
- Chukar
- Scent tracking

Physically capable of handling what the northeastern environment can dish out (COLD!). Only other caveat, needs to be smart enough to know - "squirrel are ok, but touch my cat and you're becoming a set of fur gloves."

I'm initially leaning towards a Chessie or a Lab, but would be interested in a GSP. I'd prefer to not have to ship the pup here, and I'd like to have a breeder close enough that I can use them as a training resource. (For example, proper gun intro, and force fetch training.) So obviously, preference goes to an active hunter breeder...

Ok, thanks for any suggestions! :)

May seem a little effeminate but a Standard Poodle would meet all of your requirements and more.

They are the #2 dog for intelligence (super easy to train), are considered gun/hunting dogs (that love the water), and are great family pets.

May seem a little effeminate but a Standard Poodle would meet all of your requirements and more.

That was a thought! However, my concern is that most poodles are now bred for preening as opposed to hunting - which I would think both goals are at odds with each other. Also, I figured the poodle as a status dog would have put their prices well out of my budget. Thoughts?