Why does CT make Mass look like a bunch of amateurs?

rogersmithiii

NES Member
I'm a Mass resident. This afternoon, I drove down to Middletown, CT to renew my non-resident, CT LTC. I received a notice in the mail asking me to renew, so to minimize mistakes and misunderstandings, I decided to renew the thing in person.

I walked in, handed the clerk a $35 check. Handed copies of my passport, my Mass drivers license, and my old permit. After two minutes, they took my picture, and one minute later, handed me the new permit. Quick, easy, and minimal hassle.

Why can't Massachusetts offer similar service? Why does it take Mass months to process one renewal?

Unreal.

I don't think the renewal of an LTC in MA takes as long as being a brand new applicant.

Yet again I have no idea what I'm talking about.

Renewal or first time license, the procedure is identical. The only reason it might take less time is if your local PD decides to treat renewals a bit more courteously than new applicants. As to why it's not more efficient, I suspect that it's very efficient. After all, efficiency is judged solely according to the intended results. Connecticut probably want's to get licenses taken care of with as little muss and fuss as necessary. Massachusetts in contrast designed their system to deter as many people as possible from bothering to get a license.

Ken

Jon has it right!

MA does NOT want to issue any permits at all . . . they just want your money.

$75 of every $100 LTC/FID fee goes to the state and a considerable amount of that money was supposed to be used to support the CHSB system. IMNSHO the towns got shafted as they do more work on issuance and get short-changed . . . which contributes to why it is treated as such a low priority by the cities/towns.