• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Where would it be better to sell when moving: Boston to Atlanta

Hi again, thanks for all the advice on rules for transporting firearms across state lines for a change in residence. I apologize for the confusion in my last post. Initially, I had been planning on moving to PA, but events conspired to change that to Atlanta. After checking some of the links provided here by members (thank you much) and googling some more, it looks like Atlanta is a fairly gun friendly town. You do need a licence to conceal carry (and it is not too hard to procure), but not to own, and have in your home, place of business or car. They have very "visitor" friendly laws as well, from what I can see, and as long as you obey there local laws you should be okay. Of course, I am not a lawyer, but I gleaned this info from the site of an Atlanta law firm. Good enough for me for now.

However, this raises another question for me. I was planning on selling part of my collection, really simply because I have more then I use, and figured it would make the move just a smidge easier (every little bit will help, this will be a complex move). MA, however, is kind of a pain to sell in, and given my time constraints, I might have to sell for more of a loss then if I were to wait and sell in a less ornery environment. Maybe less paperwork too, I don't know.

Anyone know what is involved in private gun sales, or sales to a shop in Atlanta? Can I just move there with a handgun, and legally sell it?

Thanks again, the advice is really helpful to a guy that likes firearms and the 2nd amendment, and is a safe and legal gun owner, but not too knowledgeable about it otherwise.

I would sell privately (4 guns )whatever you can't get at a MA FFL easily here. Help MA residents to get stuff they can't easily