What is the next big thing in milsurps?

Soxfan9

NES Member
I have been collecting milsurps for about 10 years, and have seen different things come and go. Is there anything new on the horizon to look forward to?

Eventually semi auto AKs will become C&R, unfortunately I think everything will be banned by then.[sad]
It seems like the last of the milsurp semi auto weapons have already shown up in the form of Ishy 308s and Yugo SKS rifles. There are tons of milsurps including a bunch of SVT40s left in Russia that will never see US soil. Plus Finland has a bunch too. Those just may wind up here as there was recently a good sized assortment of Finn Mosins imported.
I think we've seen all the Enfields, Mosins, Mausers, K31s, Steyr straight pulls, and standard milsurp rifles and those will probably continue to come in here and there. My prediction is someone will import a batch of semi autos.
Maybe FN49s, maybe SVT40s.

With the laws limiting the long guns coming into the country I have been wondering what handguns are approaching C&R age. If C&R's are still around in the next 5-10 years I would think there should be some interesting handguns becoming elligible. I haven't gotten around to doing the math yet.

I would love to see some SVT40's show up. Is there a reason why they are more likely to be imported from Finland than Russia?

As far as I know when it comes to firearms, nothing can come in from Russia. Finland on the other hand recently sold a US importer a bunch of Mosin Nagants.

Having thought about this thread and seeing a few of the people replying, I gotta believe the next big thing in milsurps is already here.... parts kits.

They will be the US Lend Lease rifles and 1911's that we left in the Phillipines and other countries after the war hopefully.

Re-reading this thread again I'm agreeing with pistols being the next C&R eligible goodies to come in. At 50 years or older we can give the big middle finger to the Mass laws.