Turkey hunting 2010

Let me preface this by saying I am a hunting NOOB. I've never officially hunted anything except squirrels as a kid with my pellet gun.

I am not sure about deer hunting just yet, but I am ready for turkey for sure! I want to bag a bird in 2010. I live in NH

What do I need to do? I know I will need:
-Hunting permit: This means scheduling to take a course and I need to do it this winter to be ready for the spring season. Any advice on a good place to take a course? How much can I expect to pay?
-Shotgun: This is easier. I will research, source and find a gun.
-Gear: Full camo, head to foot....

Does everyone suggest a guided type hunt for a first timer? Can i go about it solo or should I talk someone into tagging along?

Do turkey hunters typically get a bird each year? How does success rate compared to something like deer?

Get a good call (squawk box type is easy) and maybe a decoy. Find out where the turkeys are and go there and have a ball. Buy the best turkey loads and aim for the head. Turkey hunting is some of the most fun hunting around.

Fish and game and local shops will put on Turkey Hunting Seminars that can be very helpful to a new turkey hunter. One thing I'd suggest is get a turkey calling CD and listen to it in the car on the way to work. If you have a mouth call you can practice right along with it. Calling can make you or break you so make sure you practice.

Put your back up against a big tree to breakup your outline and to keep yourself safe from others. Also, don't stalk turkeys, especially hen sounds as it could be another hunter. Do lots of scouting and know what areas they're in; understand if you see them in fields near the road, so don't everyone else...

Thanks for the responses, everyone!

Sounds like I just need to get out there!