TUMBLER ADDITIVE?

hi
corn or walnut media, is anyone using a additive(polish) in there tumbler?
what would you recommend.
thx scott

I throw some of the green goo stuff (Lyman?) in once every few months. I've been using the same media for a couple years (probably 5-6 thousand rifle case and another 2-3 thousand pistol) and my brass still comes out shiny. I don't think it's really needed but I like shiny brass.

I tried making my own with car polish and mineral oil. Looked good initially, but cases turned dark fairly quickly.

I'm back to using commercial brass case polish - Frankford Arsenal seems work fine. Stays really shiny for a long time.

50 50 new finish and oderless mineral spirits, works well for me....I find if I dont wear gloves handleing the clean brass, the brass will get dark if left to sit to long.

I'm back to using commercial brass case polish - Frankford Arsenal seems work fine. Stays really shiny for a long time.[/QUOTE]
+1 on Frankford Arsenal

I don't get the shiny brass thing.

If I did, I wouldn't keep it that way with an additive that can get inside the case as well as on the outside. I'd just throw a piece of VCI paper in the can with the loaded ammo and call it good.

I use Berrys Brass bright.
A little goes a long way.
I've had the same bottle for over 5 years.

brass%20bright_md.jpg

I have found that almost any mild abrasive will work. I have used Frankford Arsenal, Nu Finish, brass polish, and chrome polish with good results. I now use the cheapest stuff I can find or whatever is on hand as everything I have used works well. I also use corn cob grit because it is cheap. This allows me to dump it before a dangerous concentration of lead develops. I know of at least one reloader that developed lead poisoning by breathing dust from over used media.

thx for all the replys everyone!