Traffic Stop Disclosure

I tried to locate this through the forum search. Being a Massachusetts resident, I'm not very familiar with New Hampshire laws. Are you obligated to disclose that you are carrying if you are stopped by a New Hampshire LEO? What are the storage requirements in a car compared to Massachusetts? Can the firearm be loaded?

Are you obligated to disclose that you are carrying if you are stopped by a New Hampshire LEO?

I don't believe there is anything in NH law that requires you to disclose you are carrying.

mikem317 said:
What are the storage requirements in a car compared to Massachusetts? Can the firearm be loaded?

Pistols and revolvers can be loaded if you have a NH license to carry (or one from a reciprocal state). Rifles and shotguns can never be loaded while in a vehicle. Other than that, the laws are silent about how to store firearms while in a vehicle. However, you are generally criminally liable if the firearm is not in a locked container and a child gets hold of your firearm and uses it in a "reckless or threatening manner".

Last edited:
I don't believe there is anything in NH law that requires you to disclose you are carrying.

Correct, you only have to disclose if asked.

Pistols and revolvers can be loaded if you have a NH license to carry (or one from a reciprocal state).

Correct again, but I think they need to be in your possession. This is more an issue if you have someone else in the car and they don't have a permit. (I could be wrong on this)

Rifles and shotguns can never be loaded while in a vehicle.

Sort of incorrect. If you are legally handicapped and hunting, you can have a loaded rifle/shot gun in a vehicle.

"reckless or threatening manor".

You know, I just don't think that is the exact wording the law uses.

I mean, we saw a few of those when we were house-shopping, but I suspect such houses of negative demeanor are not the subject of said law. [wink]