Someone give me the rundown on interstate firearms purchases...

Lamina

Banned
So, first let me apologize for not just doing a search... I'm on my bb and it's a bit cumbersome.

Here's the specific situation...

I am a NH resident. I wish to buy one rifle and one pistol from a VT resident.

am I permitted to take posession of the long gun FTF in either state, or must it me xferred through an FFL?

And, for the handgun (and rifle if need be) can the buyer come into NH and Xfer through a NH FFL, or must the item be FFL xferred in both state of exit and state of entry?

Thanks in advance to anyone who clears this up for me.

Most of my info was misleading or wrong.

Good thing I said to wait till the others reply.

I was just trying to hold animal over till the experts reply as he was was looking for quick answers.

I will refrain from commenting on things that I am not sure about.

Last edited:
I am a NH resident. I wish to buy one rifle and one pistol from a VT resident. am I permitted to take posession of the long gun FTF in either state, or must it me xferred through an FFL?
Generally, FTF transactions are illegal between residents of different states. Rifles and shotguns must be transferred through a FFL in either the

seller's or the buyer's state of residence. Handguns must be transferred through a FFL in the buyer's state of residence.

Alright, so using google fu I have verified all except the last point here...

For the pistol, is the private seller able to simply come to an FFL in my state and perform the transfer there, or must there be an FFL involved in both states?

For the pistol, is the private seller able to simply come to an FFL in my state and perform the transfer there,
Subject to NH state law, which I am unfamiliar with. My guess is, if the seller transported them unloaded and secured in a locked case in the trunk,

it's ok, but I could be wrong.

or must there be an FFL involved in both states?